Tim Berners-Lee

Tim Berners-Lee


A graduate of Oxford University, England, Tim is now with the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He directs the W3 Consortium, an open forum of companies and organizations with the mission to realize the full potential of the Web.

With a background of system design in real-time communications and text processing software development, in 1989 he invented the World Wide Web, an internet-based hypermedia initiative for global information sharing. While working at CERN, the European Particle Physics Laboratory. He wrote the first web browser and server in 1990.

Before coming to CERN, Tim worked with Image Computer Systems, of Ferndown, Dorset, England and before that a principal engineer with Plessey Telecommunications, in Poole, England.



  • Association for Computing Machinery: A.M. Turing Award (2017)
  • Royal Academy of Engineering: Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (2013)
  • Internet Hall of Fame: Innovator (2012)
  • UNESCO: Niels Bohr Gold Medal Award (2011)
  • The Gorbachev Foundation: The Mikhail Gorbachev Award (2011)
  • Harvard: Honorary Doctor of Science (2011)
  • Bilbao Web Summit: DANA Web Awards (2011)
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers: Inductee into Intelligent System Magazine's Hall of Fame (2011)
  • National Academy of Sciences: Foreign Associate (2009)
  • National Academy of Engineering: Charles Stark Draper Prize (2007)
  • United Kingdom: Order of Merit (2007)
  • MITX: Leadership Award (2007)
  • Digital Arts Online: President’s Award for outstanding contribution to creativity (2007)
  • National Academy of Engineering: Member (2007)
  • British Computer Society: Lovelace Medal (2006)
  • Institute of Physics: President's Medal (2006)
  • Sigma Xi: The Common Wealth Award for Science and Invention (2005)
  • Die Quadriga: Award (2005)
  • Financial Times: Lifetime Achievement Award (2005)
  • Special Award of the American Society for Information Science and Technology: Special Award (2004)
  • Order the British Empire: Knight Commander (2004)
  • Royal Photographic Society: Award (2004)
  • The Economist: Innovation Award (2004)
  • Computer History Museum: Fellow (2004)
  • American Philosophical Society: Fellow (2004)
  • Ninth Salva i Campillo Awards: Premio Telecom Europa (2004)
  • The Finnish Technology Award Foundation: The Millennium Technology Prize (2004)
  • Technology Review: 100 Brilliant Young Innovators (2002)
  • The Prince of Asturias Foundation: Award for Technical and Scientific Research (2002)
  • Columbia University: Honorary Doctor of Law (2002)
  • The Marconi Society: Marconi Prize (2002)
  • University of Port Elizabeth in South Africa: Honorary Doctor Scientiae (DSc) (2002)
  • RSA: Albert Medal (2002)
  • The Science and Technology Foundation of Japan: Japan Prize (2001)
  • Royal Society of Engineers: Sir Frank Whittle Medal (2001)
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Fellow (2001)
  • Royal Society: Fellow (2001)
  • Oxford University: Honorary Doctor of Science (2001)
  • Fortune: Small Business Hall of Fame (2000)
  • MacArthur Foundation: MacArthur Fellows Program (1998)
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers: Kobayashi Award (1997)
  • NEC: Computers and Communications Award (1996)