Hari Balakrishnan

Hari Balakrishnan


Hari Balakrishnan is a Professor of Computer Science at MIT. His research is in networked computer systems. His current interests are in system software, network protocols, and data management for a world of "truly mobile" connected devices. Previous work includes the RON overlay network, the Chord DHT, the Cricket location system, the CarTel mobile sensing system, and cross-layer wireless protocols such as snoop TCP and SoftPHY. He has also contributed to verifiable Internet routing, congestion control, network security and privacy, energy-efficient protocols, stream processing, and data management systems. He is an ACM Fellow (2008), a Sloan Fellow (2002), an ACM dissertation award winner (1998), and has received several best-paper awards including the IEEE Bennett prize (2004) and the ACM SIGCOMM "test of time" award (2011). He has also received a few awards for excellence in teaching and research at MIT: the Harold Edgerton faculty achievement award (2003), and the Jamieson (2012), Junior Bose (2002), and Spira (2001) teaching awards.

In 2003, Balakrishnan co-founded StreamBase Systems, the first high-performance commercial event stream processing (aka complex event processing) engine. Between 2000 and 2003, he helped devise the key algorithms for Sandburst Corporation's (acquired by Broadcom) high-speed network QoS chipset. He is an advisor to Meraki and on the Board of Trustees of IMDEA Networks in Spain.


  • H. Balakrishnan, V. N. Padmanabhan, S. Seshan, and R. H. Katz, "A Comparison of Mechanisms for Improving TCP Performance over Wireless Links," IEEE/ACM Trans. on Networking, 5(6), December 1997, pp 756-769.
  • H. Balakrishnan, Rahul, H.S., Seshan, S. "An Integrated Congestion Management Architecture for Internet Hosts", Proc. ACM SIGCOMM, Cambridge, MA, September 1999.
  • N. Priyantha and H. Balakrishnan, "The Cricket Location-Support System," Proc. ACM MOBICOM, Boston, MA, September 2000.
  • I. Stoica, R. Morris, D. Karger, F. Kaashoek, H. Balakrishnan, Chord: A Peer-to-Peer Lookup Service for Internet Applications, Proc. ACM SIGCOMM, San Diego, CA, September 2001.
  • D. Andersen, H. Balakrishnan, M.F. Kaashoek, R. Morris, "Resilient Overlay Networks," Proc. ACM SOSP, Banff, Canada, October 2001.
  • N. Feamster and H. Balakrishnan, "Detecting BGP Configuration Faults with Static Analysis," Proc. NSDI, Boston, MA, May 2005.
  • A. Miu, E. Koksal, and H. Balakrishnan, "Improving Loss Resilience with Multi-Radio Diversity in Wireless Networks," Proc. MOBICOM, August 2005.


  • M. Balazinska, H. Balakrishnan, S. Madden, and M. Stonebraker, "Fault-Tolerance in the Borealis Distributed Stream Processing System," Proc. ACM SIGMOD, Baltimore, MD, June 2005.
  • M. Walfish, J. Zamfirescu, H. Balakrishnan, D. Karger, and S. Shenker, Distributed Quota Enforcement for Spam Control, Proc. NSDI, San Jose, CA, May 2006.
  • V. Bychkovsky, B. Hull, A. Miu, H. Balakrishnan, and S. Madden, A Measurement Study of Vehicular Internet Access Using In Situ Wi-Fi Networks, Proc. ACM MOBICOM, Los Angeles, CA, September 2006.


  • Indian Institute of Technology Madras: Distinguished Alumnus Award (2013)
  • ACM/IEEE: Best Paper (2011)
  • ACM Special Interest Group on Data Communications: Test of Time Award (2011)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Fellow (2009)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Best Paper Award| MOBICOM Conf (2006)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Best Demo Award, SenSys Conf. (2006)
  • Usenix: NSDI Best Paper (2005)
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers: William R. Bennett Prize Paper Award (2004)
  • MIT: Edgerton Award (2003)
  • USENIX Security: Best Student Paper Award (2002)
  • MIT EECS: Junior Bose Teaching Award (2002)
  • Sloan Foundation: Research Fellowship (2002)
  • MIT EECS: Spira Teaching Award (2001)
  • IBM: Faculty Research Award (2000)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Best Paper Award| MOBICOM Conf (2000)
  • National Science Foundation: Career Award (1999)
  • UC Berkeley: C.V. Ramamoorthy Distinguished Research Award (1998)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Doctoral Dissertation Award (1998)
  • USENIX Annual Technical Conference: Best Student Paper (1995)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Best Paper Award| MOBICOM Conf (1995)