Srini Devadas

Srini Devadas's picture


Srini Devadas is the Webster Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and has has been on the MIT EECS faculty since 1988. He served as Associate Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, with responsibility for Computer Science, from 2005 to 2011.

Devadas's research interests span Computer-Aided Design (CAD), computer security and computer architecture and he has received significant awards from each discipline. In 2015, he received the ACM/IEEE A. Richard Newton Technical Impact award in Electronic Design Automation. He received the IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award in 2014 for inventing Physical Unclonable Functions and single-chip secure processor architectures. Devadas's work on hardware information flow tracking published in the 2004 ASPLOS received the ASPLOS Most Influential Paper Award in 2014. His papers on analytical cache modeling and the Aegis single-chip secure processor were included as influential papers in "25 Years of the International Conference on Supercomputing." In 2017 he received the IEEE W. Wallace McDowell Award for contributions to secure hardware. He is an IEEE and ACM Fellow.

Devadas has taught widely in EECS, lecturing classes in VLSI, discrete mathematics, computer architecture, algorithms and software engineering. He is a MacVicar Faculty Fellow and an Everett Moore Baker teaching award recipient, considered MIT's two highest undergraduate teaching honors.


  • Gassend, B., D. Clarke, M. van Dijk, and S. Devadas, ``Silicon Physical Random Functions'', Proceedings of the Computer and Communication Security Conference, November 2002.
  • Suh, G., E., C. O'Donnell, I. Sachdev, and S. Devadas, ``Design and Implementation of the Aegis Secure Processor Using Physical Random Functions'', Proceedings of the Int'l Symposium on Computer Architecture, June 2005.


  • IEEE-CEDA: A Richard Newton Technical Impact Award (2015)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Fellow (2014)
  • IEEE Computer Society: Technical Achievement Award (2014)
  • ACM SIGARCH: Inclusion in volume 25 Years of Int'l Conf on Supercomputing (2014)
  • ACM Special Interest Group on Programming Languages: ASPLOS Most Influential Paper (2014)
  • ACM SIGSAC: CCS Best Student Paper (2013)
  • Design Automation Conference: Best-Paper Hat Trick Award (2013)
  • Design Automation Conference: DAC Top 10 Cited Author (2013)
  • ACM/IEEE: Best Paper (2011)
  • Annual Computer Security Applications Conference: Outstanding Student Paper Award (2002)
  • International Conference on Parallel and Distributed Computing: Best paper award in High Performance Systems Category (2001)