Four from CSAIL Named to Massachusetts Academy of Sciences

Four from CSAIL Named to Massachusetts Academy of Sciences
Clockwise from top right: Shafi Goldwasser, Tom Leighton, Edward Adelson and Barbara Liskov.
Bookmark and Share
Professors and CSAIL Principal Investigators Edward Adelson, Shafi Goldwasser, Tom Leighton, and Barbara Liskov have been named 2013 Fellows of the Massachusetts Academy of Sciences.
Massachusetts Academy of Sciences Fellows constitute a select and prestigious community of scientists and science educators who are recognized for extraordinary scientific accomplishments and service to the science community and the public.
The 2013 Fellows were honored during the Academy’s Inaugural Fellows Reception in April 2013.
Adelson is the John and Dorothy Wilson Professor of Vision Science at MIT in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2007, and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2010. He has over 100 publications on topics in human vision, machine vision, computer graphics, neuroscience, and computational photography. He is well known for contributions to multiscale image representation (such as the Laplacian pyramid) and basic concepts in early vision such as steerable filters and motion energy models.
Goldwasser is the RSA Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT and a professor of computer science and applied mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel. She leads the Theory of Computation Group at CSAIL. In 2013, along with Professor Silvio Micali, she was honored with the A.M. Turing Award for pioneering work in the fields of cryptography and complexity theory.
Leighton is a professor of Applied Mathematics at MIT. He is the co-founder of Akamai Technologies, a global service provider for accelerating content and business processes online. He is a preeminent authority on algorithms for network applications. He holds numerous patents involving content delivery, network protocols, algorithms, cryptography, and digital rights management, and has published more than 100 research papers in the areas of parallel algorithms and architectures, distributed computing, communication protocols for networks, combinatorial optimization, probabilistic methods, VLSI computation and design, sequential algorithms, and graph theory.
Liskov is an Institute Professor at MIT and world-renowned for her pioneering work in programming languages and distributed systems. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Association for Computer Machinery. She received The Society of Women Engineers' Achievement Award in 1996 and the IEEE von Neumann medal in 2004. At the ACM SIGPLAN Programming Languages Design and Implementation Conference in 2008, she was awarded the Programming Languages Achievement Award. In 2009, she received the A.M. Turing Award from the Association for Computing Machinery. At CSAIL, Liskov leads the Programming Methodology Group.