CSAIL Researchers Honored by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Bookmark and Share
This week sees the naming of 229 new members to the Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the oldest independent research societies in the United States. Among them are CSAIL's Edward H. Adelson, Nancy Ann Lynch, Michael Stonebraker, and Madhu Sudan.

Academy fellows come from a wide spectrum of disciplines, leaders in fields ranging from writing and performing to research and industry. Created in 1780 by the Founding Fathers, the academy is almost as old as the nation itself. Other MIT honorees include Ricardo J. Caballero and Barry R. Posen.

The induction ceremony is set for October 9 at the academy's headquarters here in Cambridge. Click here to read the AAAS announcement, and here for more on the MIT inductees.