Srini Devadas wins IEEE’s McDowell Award

Professor honored for contributions to hardware, circuit, microprocessors and systems

This week it was announced that CSAIL principal investigator Srini Devadas is the 2017 recipient of the IEEE W. Wallace McDowell Award, given for “fundamental contributions that have shaped the field of secure hardware, impacting circuits, microprocessors, and systems.”

The McDowell Award is given to individuals for outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, or other similarly innovative contributions that fall within the scope of the IEEE Computer Society's interest. Devadas joins an esteemed list of colleagues who have won this award, including Tim Berners Lee and Fernando “Corby” Corbato.