Liskov Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Barbara Liskov, an Institute Professor at MIT and a principal investigator at CSAIL, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), an honor recognizing distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.
Liskov is world-renowned for her pioneering work in programming languages and distributed systems. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Association for Computer Machinery. She received The Society of Women Engineers' Achievement Award in 1996 and the IEEE von Neumann medal in 2004. At the ACM SIGPLAN Programming Languages Design and Implementation Conference in 2008, she was awarded the Programming Languages Achievement Award. In 2009, she received the A.M. Turing Award from the Association for Computing Machinery.
At CSAIL, Liskov leads the Programming Methodology Group. Her current research interests include Byzantine-fault-tolerant storage systems, peer-to-peer computing, and support for automatic deployment of software upgrades in large-scale distributed systems.
The NAS, when founded in 1863, called upon a group of scholars to “investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art” whenever requested by the government. Today, NAS membership continues to be one of the highest honors afforded to scientists and engineers.

For more information on Liskov's work, please visit: