Kaelbling and Micali Named EECS Chairs

Two CSAIL Principal Investigators, Professors Leslie Kaelbling and Silvio Micali, have been named faculty Chairs in MIT's Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Kaelbling, who co-heads the Learning and Intelligent Systems Group, takes on the Panasonic Chair. The position was created by the Matsushita Electric Industrial Company for leaders at the forefront of robotics and artificial intelligence. Micali, of the Cryptography and Information Security Group, has been named a Ford Professor of Engineering. The Chair honors Micali for his advances in the field of theoretical computer science. EECS Department Head Eric Grimson announced the Chairs on July 22. Other awardees include Professors Patrick Jaillet and Sangeeta Bhatia. Click here to read more.