CSAIL Member Butler Lampson shares Draper Prize

CSAIL Member Butler Lampson shares Draper Prize
Butler Lampson
Bookmark and Share

The engineering profession's highest honors for 2004, presented by the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), recognize a technological achievement that has changed almost every aspect of our lives and an innovative educational program that has produced hundreds of leaders. The Charles Stark Draper Prize was awarded to Robert W. Taylor , Alan C. Kay, Butler W. Lampson and Charles P. Thacker.

"The creation of the first practical networked personal computer is a story that's dramatically affected all of us, but which few really know about," says National Academy of Engineering President Wm. A. Wulf. "These four prize recipients were the indispensable core of an amazing group of engineering minds that redefined the nature and purpose of computing."

Xerox PARC Veterans Picked for Prestigious Draper Prize
March 9, 2004

Digital pioneers Xerox PARC scientists honored for groundbreaking work on early computers
The San Fransisco Chronicle
February 25, 2004

They built today's office 30 years ago
February 24, 2004

NAE Press Release
National Academy of Engineering Web site
February 18, 2004