Students Honored for Outstanding Doctoral Theses

Three students have been selected to receive this year’s George M. Sprowls Award for the best doctoral theses in computer science. Mihai Patrascu, supervised by Erik Demaine, was recognized for “Lower Bound Techniques for Data Structures.” Vikash Mansinghka (“Natively Probabilistic Computation”) was supervised by Joshua Tenenbaum, and Vinod Vaikuntanathan, under Shafi Goldwasser, was selected for “Randomized Algorithms for Reliable Broadcast.” The awards will be presented at the EECS awards ceremony next spring. Mansinghka and Vaikuntanathan will also be nominated for the annual ACM dissertation award.