Sollins Named 2012 AAAS Fellow

Dr. Karen Sollins, a principal research scientist at CSAIL, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.
This year 702 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, 16 February during the 2013 AAAS Annual Meeting.
This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on 30 November 2012.
As part of the Section on Information, Computing and Communication, Sollins was elected as an AAAS Fellow for notable contributions in computer privacy, security and distributed systems architecture. 
Sollins is a member of the Advanced Network Architecture Group at CSAIL and the Wireless@MIT center. Her research interests have focused on support for network based systems and applications. She has published papers on an authentication protocol and global naming. More recently she led the Information Mesh Project, addressing architectural problems of an extremely long-lived global mesh of information, followed by work on issues of extreme scaling in the net.
In addition to publishing, she has taken her work to the standards community, and chaired a research group consisting of a mix of academics and members of industry to address infrastructural problems. During 1999 and 2000, she was a senior program director for networking research at the National Science Foundation.
The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer.
Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.
For more information on Sollin’s work, please visit: