Agarwal and Lo Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Professor Anant Agarwal and Professor Andrew Lo are two of 198 new members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Members of the Academy include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders.
“Election to the Academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good,” said Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”
One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.
Agarwal is a principal investigator at CSAIL and the president of edX, the not-for-profit online learning enterprise founded by Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).
Lo is a principal investigator at CSAIL, the Charles E. and Susan T. Harris Professor at the MIT Sloan School of Management and director of MIT’s Laboratory for Financial Engineering.
New members will be inducted at a ceremony on October 12, 2013, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
For more information on Agarwal’s work, please visit: For more information on Lo’s work, please visit: