Anant Agarwal

Anant Agarwal
  • [ Login to edit profile ]

  • Position: Professor
  • Office:
  • Phone: +1 (617) 253-1448
  • Email:
  • Areas of Study: Computer architecture, operating systems, computer systems, online learning, education
  • Personal Website
  • Last Update: December 16, 2013
  • Download vCard


Anant Agarwal is the CEO of edX, an online learning destination founded by Harvard and MIT. Anant taught the first edX course on circuits and electronics from MIT, which drew 155,000 students from 162 countries. He has served as the director of CSAIL, MIT's Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, and is a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at MIT. He is a successful serial entrepreneur, having co-founded several companies including Tilera Corporation, which created the Tile multicore processor, and Virtual Machine Works.

Anant won the Maurice Wilkes prize for computer architecture, and MIT's Smullin and Jamieson prizes for teaching. He holds a Guinness World Record for the largest microphone array, and is an author of the textbook "Foundations of Analog and Digital Electronic Circuits."

His work on Organic Computing was selected by Scientific American as one of 10 World-Changing Ideas in 2011, and he was named in Forbes' list of top 15 education innovators in 2012. Anant is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a fellow of the ACM.

He hacks on WebSim, which is an online circuits laboratory in his spare time. Anant holds a Ph.D. from Stanford and a bachelor's from IIT Madras.

Anant's twitter handle is @agarwaledu.

Tag Cloud for Anant Agarwal

    multicore, manycore, cloud computing, cloud, operating system, computer architecture, OS, professor, angstrom, tile, self-aware computing, autonomic computing, computer systems, chips, VLSI, core, online learning, education, MOOCs


  • D. Wentzlaff, C. Gruenwald III, N. Beckmann, K. Modzelewski, A. Belay, L. Youseff, J. Miller, and A. Agarwal. " An Operating System for Multicore and Clouds: Mechanisms and Implementation " ACM Symposium on Cloud Computing (SOCC), June 2010.
  • M. B. Taylor, W. Lee, J. Miller, D. Wentzlaff, I. Bratt, B. Greenwald, H. Hoffmann, P. Johnson, J. Kim, J. Psota, A. Saraf, N. Shnidman, V. Strumpen, M. Frank, S. Amarasinghe, A. Agarwal. “Evaluation of the Raw Microprocessor: An Exposed-Wire-Delay Architecture for ILP and Streams.” In Proc. International Symposium on Computer Architecture, June 2004.
  • A. Agarwal, R. Bianchini, D. Chaiken, K. Johnson, D. Kranz, J. Kubiatowicz, B. H. LIm, K. MacKenzie, and D. Yeung. " The MIT Alewife Machine: Architecture and Performance." In proceedings of the 22nd Annual Internationsl Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA 1995), June 1995, pp 2-13
  • David Wentzlaff and Anant Agarwal. "Factored Operating Systems (fos): The Case for a Scalable Operating System for Multicores." In ACM SIGOPS Operating System Review, April 2009.
  • Anant Agarwal, Liewei Bao, John Brown, Bruce Edwards, Matt Mattina, Chyi- Chang Miao, Carl Ramey, David Wentzlaff. "Tile Processor: Embedded Multicore for Networking and Multimedia." Hotchips 2007.
  • Anant Agarwal, "Raw Computation," Scientific American, August 1999.


  • Government of India: Padma Shri (2017)
  • McGraw Hill Education: Harold W McGraw Jr Prize in Education (2016)
  • ACM SIGARCH: Inclusion in volume 25 Years of Int'l Conf on Supercomputing (2014)
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Fellow (2013)
  • National Academy of Engineering: Member (2013)
  • Forbes Magazine: Top 15 education innovators (2012)
  • Scientific American: 10 World Changing Ideas (2011)
  • MIT EECS: Jamieson teaching prize (2010)
  • International Conference on Autonomic Computing: Best student paper (2010)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Fellow (2007)
  • MIT: Smullin Prize for teaching (2005)
  • Guinness World Records: Largest beamforming acoustic microphone array (LOUD) based on the Raw parallel processor (2004)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Maurice Wilkes Award (2001)
  • International Conference on Supercomputing: Best Paper (1993)
  • International Conference on Parallel Processing: Most Original Paper (1993)
  • National Science Foundation: Presidential Young Investigator Award (1991)