Dina Katabi

Dina Katabi


My research interests are in computer networks and data communication. They encompass congestion control, network measurements, scalability and robustness of communication systems, differentiated services, Internet pricing, routing, content distribution, peer-to-peer systems, self-configurable and wireless networks, and network security. I have a particular interest in adapting tools from various fields of applied mathematics such as control theory, coding theory, and AI to solve problems in computer networks.


  • Dina Katabi, Mark Handley, and Charles Rohrs, "Internet Congestion Control for High Bandwidth-Delay Product Networks." ACM Sigcomm 2002, Pittsburgh, August, 2002.
  • Dina Katabi and Charles Blake, "Inferring Congestion Sharing and Path Characteristics from Packet Interarrival Times." LCS Technical Report, 2001.
  • Dina Katabi and Mark Handley, " Using Precise Feedback for Controlling Congestion in the Internet." MIT-LCS Technical Report 820.
  • Dina Katabi, Issam Bazzi, and Xiaowei Yang, " A Passive Approach for Detecting Shared Bottlenecks." IEEE International Conference on Computer Communications and Networks, ICCCN 2001, Arizona 2001.
  • Dina Katabi and Mark Handley, " Enhancing Internet Congestion Control Using Explicit and Precise Feedback." A 2-page paper published in Oxygen 2001 Workshop, July 2001.
  • Dina Katabi and John Wroclawski, " A Framework for Scalable Global IP-Anycast (GIA)." Best Student Paper award, SIGCOMM 2000.
  • Dina Katabi " The Use of IP-Anycast for Building Efficient Multicast Trees." Global Internet'99, Costa Rica, 1999.
  • Dina Katabi, Issam Bazzi, and Xiaowei Yang, "An Information Theoretic Approach for Shared Bottleneck Inference Based on End-to-end Measurements." MIT-LCS Technical Memo 604.
  • Issam Bazzi and Dina Katabi, "Using Support Vector Machines for Spoken Digit Recognition." Proc. of 6th International Conference on Spoken Language Processing (ICSLP), Beijing, China, October 2000.


  • EECS: Viterbi Professorship (2014)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Fellow (2013)
  • MacArthur Foundation: MacArthur Fellows Program (2013)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Grace Murray Hopper Award (2013)
  • MIT EECS: Faculty Research Innovation Fellowship (2011)
  • ACM Special Interest Group on Data Communications: Best Paper Award (2011)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: SIGCOMM Award (2008)
  • Sloan Foundation: Research Fellowship (2006)
  • Usenix: NSDI - Best Student Paper (2005)
  • National Science Foundation: Career Award (2005)
  • MIT EECS: Sprowls Doctoral Dissertation Award (2003)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Doctoral Dissertation Award (2003)