Costis Daskalakis

Costis Daskalakis's picture


Constantinos (or Costis) Daskalakis is the X-Window Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, a member of the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL), and an affiliate of the Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems (LIDS) and the Operations Research Center (ORC). He completed his undergraduate studies in Greece, at the National Technical University of Athens, and obtained a PhD in Computer Science from UC Berkeley. After Berkeley he was a postdoctoral researcher in Microsoft Research New England, and has been at the faculty of MIT since 2009.

Costis is interested in Algorithmic Game Theory and Applied Probability, particularly in computational aspects of markets and the Internet, in social networks, and in computational problems in Biology. His research is motivated by two questions: "how does the algorithmic perspective influence Economics, Biology and Physics?" and "how does the study of computational problems arising from areas outside Computer Science transform the Theory of Computation?"

Costis and his collaborators, Paul Goldberg and Christos Papadimitriou, were honored by the Game Theory Society with the first Game Theory and Computer Science Prize for their work on the Computational Complexity of Nash equilibria. Their same work was honored with the 2011 SIAM Outstanding Paper Prize.  Costis was also the recipient of the 2006 Best Student Paper Award at the ACM Conference on Electronic Commerce, a 2007 Microsoft Graduate Research Fellowship, the 2008 ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award, a 2010 Sloan Foundation fellowship in Computer Science, the 2011 MIT Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching, and a 2012 Microsoft Research Faculty Fellowship.


  • Vatican Giuseppe Sciacca Foundation: 2015 Research and Development Award (2015)
  • ACM Special Interest Group Electronic Commerce: Best Student Paper (2013)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Conference on Electronic Commerce Best Paper (2013)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Conference on Electronic Commerce Best Student Paper (2012)
  • Microsoft: New Faculty Fellowship Award (2012)
  • MIT EECS: Spira Teaching Award (2011)
  • SIAM: Outstanding Paper (2011)
  • National Science Foundation: Career Award (2010)
  • Sloan Foundation: Research Fellowship (2010)
  • Game Theory Society: Game Theory and Computer Science Prize (2008)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Doctoral Dissertation Award (2008)
  • Microsoft: Research Fellowship (2007)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Best Student Paper Award (2006)