Frans Kaashoek

Frans Kaashoek


M. Frans Kaashoek is a professor in MIT's EECS Department and a member of the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory. He received his PhD from the Vrije Universiteit (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) for his work on group communication in the Amoeba distributed operating system. His principal field of interest is designing and building computer systems. Some of the current projects that he is working on with students include exokernels, an extensible operating system architecture, and SFS, a secure, decentralized global file system.


  • "Application performance and flexibility on exokernel systems." M. Frans Kaashoek, Dawson R. Engler, Gregory R. Ganger, Hector M. Briceno, Russell Hunt, David Mazieres, Thomas Pinckney, Robert Grimm, John Jannotti, and Kenneth Mackenzie. In Proceedings of the 16th ACM Symposium on Operating Systems Principles, Saint Malo, France, 1997.
  • tcc: A system for fast, flexible, and high-level dynamic code generation. by Massimiliano Poletto, Dawson R. Engler, and M. Frans Kaashoek. In Proceedings of Programming Languages Design and Implementation, 1997.
  • David Mazieres and M. Frans Kaashoek. The design, implementation and operation of an email pseudonm server. In Proceedings of the 5th ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security, 1998.


  • MIT: Earll M Murman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising (2014)
  • MIT EECS: Jamieson teaching prize (2014)
  • ACM Symposium on Operating Systems Principles: Best Paper (2013)
  • ACM Special Interest Group on Operating Systems: Hall of Fame Award (2013)
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Fellow (2012)
  • ACM Special Interest Group on Data Communications: Test of Time Award (2011)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: ACM infosys foundation Award (2011)
  • National Academy of Engineering: Member (2006)
  • Google: Research Award (2005)
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers: William R. Bennett Prize Paper Award (2004)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Fellow (2004)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: SIGOPS - Mark Weiser Award (2001)
  • Association for Computing Machinery: Best Paper Award| SOSP '99 (1999)
  • MIT EECS: Spira Teaching Award (1997)