left image


Regina Barzilay wins MacArthur “genius grant”

CSAIL principal investigator receives two ACM SIGSOFT awards

Graduate student receives ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award

CSAIL director Daniela Rus wins Engelberger Robotics Award

Tim Berners-Lee wins $1 million Turing Award, "the Nobel Prize for computing"

MIT Professor Tim Berners-Lee, the researcher who invented the World Wide Web and is one of the world’s most influential voices for online privacy and government transparency, has won the most prestigious honor in computer science, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) A.M. Turing Award. Often referred to as “the Nobel Prize of computing,” the award comes with a $1 million prize provided by Google.

In its announcement today, ACM cited Berners-Lee for “inventing the World Wide Web, the first web browser, and the fundamental protocols and algorithms allowing the web to scale.” This year marks the 50th anniversary of the award.

Tim Berners-Lee wins $1 million Turing Award

Four CSAIL researchers named ACM fellows

Ankur Moitra named a 2016 Packard Fellow

Y. Bryce Kim PhD `17 wins NSF award

Cybersecurity paper on government backdoors earns 2016 EFF award