CSAIL research is conducted by approximately 50 research groups organized into three high-level areas of focus: 

  • Artificial Intelligence

  • Systems

Each group is composed of faculty PIs; any combination of graduate and undergraduate students, and post-docs; and research staff. Click on any group to learn more about specific research projects and current and alumni members.

Current Research 



Anyscale Learning For All (ALFA)

Una-May O'Reilly

Kalyan Veeramachaneni

Center for Biological and Computational Learning

Tomaso Poggio

Clinical Decision Making Group

Peter Szolovits

Computation and Biology

Bonnie Berger
Computational Biology

Manolis Kellis

Computational Cognitive Science Group

Josh Tenenbaum

Computational Genomics

David Gifford

Computer Graphics Group

Frédo Duran

Wojciech Matusik

Decentralized Information Group

Tim Berners-Lee

Daniel Weitzner

Distributed Robotics Lab

Daniela Rus  


Patrick Winston 

Haystack Group

David Karger

Imagination, Computation, and Expression Laboratory

Fox Harrell

Interactive Robotics Group

Julie A. Shah


Boris Katz

Learning and Intelligent Systems

Leslie Pack Kaelbling

Tomas Lozano-Perez

Machine Learning

Medical Vision Group

Polina Golland

Eric Grimson

Model-Based Embedded and Robotics Systems Group

Brian Williams

Multimodal Understanding Group

Randall Davis

Natural Language Processing Group

Regina Barzilay

Tommi Jaakola

Robot Locomotion Group

Russ Tedrake

Robotics, Vision and Sensor Networks

John Leonard

Nicholas Roy

Spoken Language Systems Group

Jim Glass

Stephanie Seneff

Victor Zue

The Computational Fabrication Group

Wojciech Matusik


Edward Adelson

Fredo Durand

John Fisher

William Freeman

Polina Golland

Eric Grimson

Berthold Horn

Aude Oliva

Ruth Rosenholtz

Antonio Torralba

World Wide Web Consortium

Tim Berners-Lee



Advanced Network Architecture

David Clark

Karen Sollins

Applied Computer Group

Alan Edelman
Commit Group

Saman Amarasinghe


Computation Structures Group


Srini Devadas

Jack Dennis

Joel Emer

Daniel Sanchez  

Armando Solar-Lezama

Computer Architecture Group

Computer Systems Security

Nickolai Zeldovich

Cryptography and Information Security Group

Shafi Goldwasser

Silvio Micali

Ron Rivest

Database Group

Sam Madden

Mike Stonebraker

Julia Labs

Alan Edelman



Networks at MIT

Dina Katabi


Networks and Mobile Systems

Mohammad Alizadeh

Hari Balakrishnan


Parallel and Distributed Operating Systems

Frans Kaashoek

Robert Morris

Matei Zaharia

Nickolai Zeldovich 

Programming Languages and Software Engineering

      Saman Amarasinghe


Adam Chlipala

Daniel Jackson

Rob Miller

Martin Rinard

Armando Solar-Lezama

Programming Methodology Group

Dorothy Curtis

Barbara Liskov

Software Design Group

Daniel Jackson

Supertech Research Group

Bradley C. Kuszmaul

Charles E. Leiserson

User Interface Design Group

Rob Miller



Algorithms Group

Complexity Theory Group

Computation and Biology Group

Computational Connectomics Group

Nir Shavit

Cryptography and Information Security Group

Database Group

Sam Madden

Mike Stonebraker

Quantum Information Science

Multicore Algorithmics

Nir Shavit

Supertech Research Group

Charles E. Leiserson

Theory of Distributed Systems Group

Nancy Lynch


Previous Research


Classroom Learning Partner

   Kimberle Koile            

Dynamic Languages Group

Jonathan Bachrach

Bob Laddaga

Paul Robertson   

Howie Shrobe

Greg Sullivan                                                                                                                                 

Humans and Automation Lab

Project Aries

Tom Knight                                                                                                                                                 

Project on Mathematics and Computation

Hal Abelson

Jake Beal

Richard Greenblatt

Tom Knight

Marvin Minsky

Piotr Mitros

Alexey Radul

Jonathan Rees

Alan Ruttenberg

Richard Stallman

Gerry Sussman

Jack Wisdom

Stochastic Systems Group

Vision Interface Project

Trevor Darrell



Program Analysis Group

Project on Mathematics and Computation