Balakrishnan, Rus elected to National Academy of Engineering

Bookmark and Share

CSAIL principal investigators Hari Balakrishnan and Daniela Rus were among the 67 new members and 12 foreign associates elected today to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to American engineers. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.” 

Balakrishnan, the Fujitsu Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was cited for his contributions to wired and wireless networks and distributed systems.

Rus, the Andrew and Erna Viterbi Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and director of CSAIL, was cited for contributions to distributed robotic systems. 

Read more at MIT News: