Agarwal Elected to NAE

Agarwal Elected to NAE
Professor Anant Agarwal
Bookmark and Share
Professor Anant Agarwal, president of edX and a principal investigator at CSAIL, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Agarwal was cited for contributions to shared-memory and multicore computer architectures.
Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”
Along with Agarwal, MIT Professor John Hansman, and MIT Professor Emeritus Edward Merrill were also elected to the NAE.
“Anant, John, and Ed have made outstanding contributions to their fields, and I am delighted to see them acknowledged by the National Academy of Engineering,” said Ian Waitz, dean of the School of Engineering. “They are dedicated scholars and educators, and fantastic members of MIT’s community."
For more information on Agarwal’s work, please visit: