Three CSAIL Members Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Bookmark and Share
CSAIL Principal Investigators Arvind, Bonnie Berger and Frans Kaashoek have been elected as new members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.
“Election to the Academy is both an honor for extraordinary accomplishment and a call to serve,” Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz said in a statement. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”
Arvind, the Johnson Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at MIT and a member of the Computation Structures Group at CSAIL, conducts research focused on parallel computing and programming languages. His current research interests include synthesis and verification of large digital systems described using guarded atomic actions, and memory models and cache coherence protocols for parallel architectures and languages.
Berger is a professor of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science at MIT, and a principal investigator at CSAIL where she heads the Computation and Biology Group and is a member of the Theory of Computation Group. Her research focuses on the intersection of a number of problems at the interface of algorithms and biology including protein folding, network inference, genomics, and disease classification.
Kaashoek is a professor of electrical engineering and computer science and a leader of the Parallel and Distributed Operating Systems Group at CSAIL. His research focuses on computer systems, in particular operating systems, networking, programming languages, compilers, and computer architecture for distributed, mobile, and parallel systems. In 2011, he was awarded the ACM-Infosys Foundation Award.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 6 at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.